Interview: Eric Mateer

Mateer PicEric Mateer is a writer/illustrator who grew up in Northbridge, Massachusetts. Eric received his BFA in Illustration from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth in 2010. He has since published two books for young readers in his Paint Me Terrified series. He now currently resides in sunny Florida, where he also works as a caricature artist at Walt Disney World parks and resorts.

On Wednesday, December 26, from 2PM-5PM Eric will be visiting Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester for a signing to celebrate the release of the newest release, Doorway to Nowhere. Get to know him a little better before the big event!

Thank you very much, Eric, for taking some time to give us an interview. Congratulations on your newest release! Both of your novels follow two best friends Amy and Josh, as they discover the dark secrets of their suburban hometown. What are some of the things that led you to creating Amy, Josh, and the world they live in?

I came up with the first story while I was still in college. A lot of it comes from my own life. I grew up in a small town, and I was always a fan of horror and mystery books growing up. These books are the product of that.

 

How would you describe your writing process?

My process is very loose. I always write the whole story in one sitting, or as close to one sitting as I can get. It’s never the finished story, but I always try to get at least a full draft done. Then I go back and analyze what I wrote; I move parts around, add things, rewrite. But I always try to lay a groundwork to start from. It helps me to look at the big picture.

Paint_Me_Terrified_Cover

What is your favorite part – and what do you find the hardest? What draws you to write for young readers?

I don’t know if I can name one favorite part of the process. I just love coming up with new ideas for stories all the time. Sometimes I have to put on my historian hat—if I’m working on a story that involves dates and other facts. That always presents a challenge. I love to write for young readers, because I used to be one. I loved reading when I was a kid, and I always wanted to share my own stories. Oh, and I like illustrating my own stories, too.

 

What has been the best piece of advice you received to help you on your path of being an author? What piece of advice would you pass on to newer authors?

The best piece of advice wasn’t actually advice at all. It was learning to believe in my own work.

The best advice I can give is to take action. Don’t say that you’ve always wanted to write a book. Write the book. Instead of talking about doing something, just do it!

 

What are some teasers you can share about Amy and Josh’s future adventures?

Only that their adventures are far from over.

Doorway_to_Nowhere_Cover

Where else can we find your writing? How can people find out more about you?

You can find out more about me at OrangeArtWorks.com. I also have a blog for the Paint Me Terrified book series at OrangeArtWorks.com/PaintMeTerrified.

 

What is an interview question you’ve always wished someone would ask… and what would its answer be?

My favorite bread recipe. Answer: pumpkin.

 

Once again, thank you very much for the interview, and we look forward to hosting you at Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester!

Thanks for having me!

 

About anniesbookstopworcester

Hello and come on in! We are your friendly neighborhood bookstore, stocking new & pre-read books, as well as toys, gifts, magazines, greeting cards, audio titles, and much more! We welcome special orders and we will happily take want lists. BUSINESS HOURS: Mon - Thurs: 9:00 am - 8:00pm Friday: 9am-9pm Saturday 10am-9pm Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
This entry was posted in author spotlight, interviews, Local Authors, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

