LOCAL AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: Eric Dimbleby

12062013 - Dimbledy picAnnie’s Book Stop of Worcester welcomes Eric Dimbleby to our Author Spotlight this week! If you came to our Dark Carnival of Authors and fundraiser for Rick Hautala this past April, you may have met Eric there.  If not, here’s your chance to meet him now.

If you’re looking for the perfect gift for that fan of horror in your life, Eric’s books would be a great match!

 

===================================

Can you please tell us briefly a little about yourself and your writing? How would you like us to introduce you?

I write a little bit of everything… but mostly horror-slash-comedy, with a heavy emphasis on the slash. My biggest personal influences are Kurt Vonnegut, Jack Ketchum, Stephen King, and David Sedaris. So take that how you will, but I am all over the map stylistically.  I have a bit of a socio-political agenda when I write my books as well. I just can’t help it. For instance, my third novel The Klinik is my true to life rant against the American Health Care Cabal (wait, no… not cabal… I mean SYSTEM, yeah SYSTEM).

As for me personally, I’ve lived in Maine for about ten years now. I have a day job working with computers and I have a family of 5. My three kids are all under the age of 4, so you can imagine how crazy my household is at times. Great fuel for my writing style, though. Sometimes you just have to laugh at the chaos, but also smile at the warmth. Speaking of, I’m finishing up the first draft on my next novel which is called The House That Swallowed Children, and it tackles this subject exactly; the mixture of joys and frustration as we achieve domestic bliss. Sometimes you want to impale yourself on the white picket fence. It’s a natural feeling for all parents I think.

For readers unfamiliar with your work, how would you describe what you write?

Expect to laugh at death. I always say that the best way to defeat death is to laugh in its face. Go ahead and spit at it while you’re laughing. Death doesn’t mind. Death is a sissy.  

What was the inspiration for The Fetus Cloud?  What were the steps you took to bring it from initial inspiration to the12062013 - Fetis Cloud finished book?

The Fetus Cloud, which is a collection of my most twisted short stories, was actually inspired by all the children that my wife and I brought into the world in the past 3 years. I wrote many of these stories during her pregnancies. Almost every story deals with evil or mutant children, or devious adults harming children. It’s the place I was at in my life, dealing with the fears of losing a child or being a bad father, or spawning something devious from my loins. It was cathartic to write some of these stories. I always think about that scene with Gage getting creamed by the truck in Pet Semetary. There is nothing more horrible to a parent that loves their children.  The ultimate fear.

What draws you to the particular genre or style that you write? What do you think draws readers to these kinds of books?

I always read horror because my mother read horror when I was a kid. She’d always have stacks of paperbacks and hardcovers at all times, usually stacked beneath her bed. When she finished one, I would pick it up, probably starting around 11 years old. I didn’t “get” most of what was going on, especially in the more adult books, but I related to the details and was drawn to the vivid language. I thought it was so cool when I read some character who was swearing, like I was doing something wrong. I am a fan of swearing in my work. I’ve been poo-poo’ed a few times for it, but I don’t mind. Most real human beings that I know swear, and so do my characters. And that is exactly what people are attracted to—real people with real problems, but occurring within that vacuum of bizarre impossibilities that is fictional literature.

What is your favorite part of being a writer?  Of the whole writing and publishing process?  What do you think has been your greatest lesson in the journey thus far?

I have a whole lot of fun meeting people at signings or conventions and just chewing the fat with them. I meet some really bizarre and fun people, and it’s great to connect with a new reader.  I’ve always sold way more books in person than I do online or via social media, mostly because I get fired up by the interaction and back-and-forth with somebody of a like mind. If somebody is attracted to my booth because I have a sign with the word “FETUS” on it, or a cover of a bleeding woman with a hook through her stomach… we’ll probably share a laugh and a handshake. If somebody is offended by one of my book covers or titles, then they are not a potential Eric Dimbleby fan, and that is fine. But I love it when I meet new sickos!

Where can people find your work? (Besides ABSW ;)–though they should totally check here first!)

All 4 of my books are available on Amazon. That’s the next best place to go! My newest short story compilation—which also happens to be my first self-publishing experiment—is only 2.99 on Kindle. It gives a great sample of my odd style. It’s called The Fetus Cloud. Enough said.

How can we follow your work, share your awesomeness, or otherwise stalk you in a totally non-creepy way?

Check out my website at www.ericdimbleby.com. Also check out my Facebook page and Twitter. I’m all over the internet(s).

About anniesbookstopworcester

Hello and come on in! We are your friendly neighborhood bookstore, stocking new & pre-read books, as well as toys, gifts, magazines, greeting cards, audio titles, and much more! We welcome special orders and we will happily take want lists. BUSINESS HOURS: Mon - Thurs: 9:00 am - 8:00pm Friday: 9am-9pm Saturday 10am-9pm Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
This entry was posted in author spotlight, interviews, Local Authors, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

