Author Spotlight: Rita Sawyer

12202013 - Sawyer CoverThis week, local romance author Rita Sawyer graces our Local Author Spotlight. Feeling a little chilled this winter? Rita’s here to warm you up with some spice and a healthy dose of humor!

Can you please tell us briefly a little about yourself and your writing? How would you like us to introduce you?  Hi everyone. I’m romance author Rita Sawyer. I write contemporary romances and romantic comedies. My stories vary in heat level from sweet to sizzling, but hopefully they all have a hint of humor. I grew up in Massachusetts and live here now with my husband and kids.

For readers unfamiliar with your work, how would you describe what you write?  What can readers expect from [newest release/spotlighted release]? I like to write the kind of stories I want to read. So I add a little heat, some passion, and without a little laughter, I don’t think it would be any fun so I try to mix that in there too. Martinis, Manicures & Mud Pies is the 3rd book in my contemporary romance series Heiresses In Aprons. Hopefully readers will find all three in this book.

What draws you to the particular genre or style that you write? What do you think draws readers to these kinds of books? I tend to write a lot of series. I think the reason for that is because you get to keep the connection with the characters longer.  For readers, I often wonder if they’re drawn to series for the same reason. Then again it could be the knowledge that no matter what the obstacles are there is going to be a Happily Ever After, or at least a Happily For Now at the end.

What is your passion when you’re not writing? How do you make time for your non-writing things you love?  When I’m not writing I love to watch movies of all kinds. Old, new, quirky I love watching them, and I’m pretty good at seeing someone in one movie and being able to tell you what else they’ve been in. I have a huge DVD collection and I love to watch them with my family.

Where can people find your work? (Besides ABSW ;)–though they should totally check here first!) My books can be found at most online retailers. Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, and Kobo are the first that come to mind. Right now to celebrate the release of Martinis, Manicures & Mud Pies on December 20th the ebook version of the 1st book in the same series, Shit Kickers & Stilettos, is free. So stop by your favorite online retailer and download your copy.

You can find some of Rita’s The Brazen Sister Series at Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester in our Local Authors 12202013 - Rita Sawyer bio pictureSection!

How can we follow your work, share your awesomeness, or otherwise stalk you in a totally non-creepy way? Wow. The easiest way to find me is on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/rita.sawyer.5, I’m also on twitter @ritasawyer, and then there’s my blog www.ritasawyer.blogspot.com  and my website www.RitaSawyer.com.

About anniesbookstopworcester

Hello and come on in! We are your friendly neighborhood bookstore, stocking new & pre-read books, as well as toys, gifts, magazines, greeting cards, audio titles, and much more! We welcome special orders and we will happily take want lists. BUSINESS HOURS: Mon - Thurs: 9:00 am - 8:00pm Friday: 9am-9pm Saturday 10am-9pm Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
This entry was posted in author spotlight, interviews, Local Authors, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

