Events Buzz: Have some Pi!

03142016 - Song of Achilles Cover

Happy Pi Day everyone! How are you celebrating the date that’s also the key to figuring the radius of a circle that’s also an excuse to eat baked pastry goods?

And did you all set your clocks forward appropriately? Feeling a little drag that requires extra book snuggling until your get used to Daylight Savings? Well, we can help you out with the books, in any case. We even have our sales carts out front for extra savings—to hopefully help make up some for that lost hour of sleep.

Thank you to everyone who stopped in this past weekend for our Zombies and Superheroes event with Jeremy Flagg and Scott Goudsward and our Afternoon of Poetry with Rev. Catherine Reed. We had a wonderful time with you all!

THIS WEEK brings you all three more great events!

On THIS Thursday, March 17, from starting at 7:00, we are hosting our monthly Doctor Who Discussion Group. ABSW has a sizable representation of Doctor Who merchandise, and owner Patty Cryan is a long-time fan of the series—the world’s longest running science fiction serial! This month’s topic is Companions, Part 1. The Doctor has had a lot of companions in his TARDIS, let’s discuss them, starting with companions from the first three Doctors!

And then, THIS SATURDAY, March 19, we have two events!

From 3:00 – 5:00 PM, we have authors Caitlin Avery and H.A. Raynes here for “The Road Trip of a Life Time or The Edge of War”. Both authors will speak about their works, give short readings, and sign their memoir and novels in an afternoon that will bring readers from the edge of despair, though thrilling joys of adventure, to a future America on the edge of civil war. Be prepared for life-changing journeys.

Caitlin Avery grew up in Sudbury, Massachusetts. Her first book, Lightning in my Wires, is a memoir of trying to find love in L.A. to learning how to love herself unconditionally. Her most recent release is a novel, The Last Cruz, about three women riding motorcycles down Baja on a vacation gone horribly wrong.

H.A. Raynes is a parent to two kids and a cockapoo who’s had a long career as a producer in advertising. Nation of Enemies is a thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and James Rollins about the U.S. in 2032, where all citizens have been biochipped and their medical information made public, and an assassination on the eve of the presidential election has a nation of domestic terrorism on the edge of a civil war.

After that, from 6:00 – 8:00 PM, we welcome back the Rainbow Readers LGBTQA Book Club. For March, the book is The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller.

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their difference, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.

Then, finishing off the month, we’ve still got…

UPDATED INFO: Friday, March 25, 7:00 – 8:30 PM – Worcester Storytellers with featured reader, Victor Infante

Monday, March 28, 7:00 – 8:00 PM – Free People’s Artists Workshop

And next week, we’ll give you a sneak peek at what’s coming up in April—including our many plans for April School Vacation from April 18 – 22.

For your convenience, here’s a list of our regular events!

Spinning Yarns Craft and Audiobook Social, every Monday 7:00 PM (except for when the Free People’s Artists Workshop meets the last Monday of the month). Bring a craft and enjoy an audiobook or audio drama with other crafty booklovers!

Worcester Storytellers, the fourth Friday of every month from 7-8:30 PM. This month is open mic for all with no featured reader. For the complete updates and schedules, follow Worcester Storytellers on Facebook! Next meeting on March 25.

The Free People’s Artists Workshop, the last Monday of each month from 7:00-9:00 PM. Networking and feedback from other artists and creators of all types. Co-sponsored by the Worcester County Poetry Association. Next meeting on March 28th.

Doctor Who Talks, the third Thursday of every month from 7:00 – 8:00 PM. Join us for a discussion of our favorite science fiction serial. Every month will have a different topic! Next meeting on March 17.

The Rainbow Readers of Massachusetts is an LGBTQA book club that will meet once a month on third Saturdays from 6:00-8:00 PM. The book will be Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. Next meeting on March 19.

Rainbow Readers Youth of Massachusetts is an LGBTQA book club specific to teens, meeting once a month on first Fridays from 6:00-8:00 PM. Next meeting on April 1.

As always, keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for the most up-to-date information.

May your world be filled with wonderful words!

Advertisements

About anniesbookstopworcester

Hello and come on in! We are your friendly neighborhood bookstore, stocking new & pre-read books, as well as toys, gifts, magazines, greeting cards, audio titles, and much more! We welcome special orders and we will happily take want lists. BUSINESS HOURS: Mon - Thurs: 9:00 am - 8:00pm Friday: 9am-9pm Saturday 10am-9pm Sun: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
This entry was posted in events, Monday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s